Growing and Play Things

It can be a burden to always address heavy topics but that’s where we are in our country and the church should always be prepared to respond with the hope that they have. Thankfully other things are also important in the Christian life. Raphael is 2 years old now, he is bigger and he is requiring more attention. I used to be able to just lay him on me and he would sleep but now he seems to want me to entertain him, all the time. This is a new and growing challenge. I love him and I love playing with him but it can be hard to keep up, I get tired sometimes. I wonder how Abraham and Sarah did it?

There are too many obvious situations that I can equate with God, thankfully then I can learn from them. God doesn’t seem to tire at my bids for his time.

I love the fact God is a better Dad than I am.

God desires our attention and God desires our need for him.
He seems to want me to want him as REO Speedwagon taught. But he does not need me to need him, it is a bit different, but he does desire it.  He would love for me to love him, that is why the whole gospel came about.

God wants time with me. Have you ever asked yourself why?

God wants his creation to be redeemed. Have you ever asked yourself why?

God’s nature causes sin to be destroyed in his presence, so he went through the effort to cleanse us. Have you ever asked yourself why?

The answer seems to be that he desires a relationship with us. God desires relationship with us? He wants to be with us. This is great news. God desires us even when we do not desire him. He told us that while we were yet sinners Christ died for us. It wasn’t even like there were a few of us worth dying for who truly deserved it, and he ended up with the rest of us in the deal. God created us, stood over the vast emptiness of nothing and spoke the universe into existence. He did this so he would have a place to establish for his creation to reside. He fashioned the earth and the sky. He molded the land and the sea. He filled it with creatures large and small able to inhabit all the ecosystems he governs. He made it beautiful and capable of sustaining life. Then he fashioned sons and daughters. He made bi-pedal humans and gave them his image and stamp of approval. He gave us authority to reign in his promised domain. We threw it in his face.

I would have been quite done with us if I am honest. But I suppose, perhaps I couldn’t have been bothered to create again, maybe I could have shown mercy and endured a little while longer, but by the times of Noah? Yeah I would have been quite finished with humanity at that point. But God endured with us. Keep reading the Old Testament and our behavior does not improve. Up and down left and right we run from him. Side to side we hide from him and continually defy him. Back and forth we do not give him honor.

But God, being rich in mercy, because of the great love with which he loved us, even when we were dead in our trespasses, made us alive together with Christ—by grace you have been saved— and raised us up with him and seated us with him in the heavenly places in Christ Jesus, so that in the coming ages he might show the immeasurable riches of his grace in kindness toward us in Christ Jesus. For by grace you have been saved through faith. And this is not your own doing; it is the gift of God, not a result of works, so that no one may boast. 10 For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand, that we should walk in them.

God did all this because not only does he love us but he wants to show us in the coming ages his love and kindness. Jesus Christ displays this for us. He already has done this and there is more to come. My bids for time with God are greatly appreciated and God will continue to show me his rich grace. He loves me to love him.

I am not God but I want to have rich grace and kindness for my family. I want to have great grace for those that God has placed around me. As Raphael grows he will one day desire less play time with me, but God will never fade. The day will come when Raphael will stop bringing me books and play things. He will grow up and mature and our relationship will change. But before God, I will always be a child. He will always respond into the ages with kindness and love.

God help me to always respond in kindness and love and give me the wisdom to raise a son who loves you.

thanks

 

Leave a Reply

